Getting the count of issues with a certain age

I am new to working with cubes, and I am sure that I am missing a big picture item. I am trying to replicate some time reports we had from our former bug tracking with the Easy BI/Jira report.

My report has Time and Issues as rows and measures as column

For closed issues, I am trying to get a count by time period for various ranges of the time it took to close.

example:

| | Issues Closed | 0-7 days | 8-30 days | 31 + Days
|May, 2018 | 15 | 5 | 7 | 3
|June 2018 | 16 | 6 | 8 | 3

So, I have added a calculated member [Issue].[Days to Close] calculated by:
DateDiffDays( [Issue].CurrentHierarchyMember.get(‘Created at’),
[Issue].CurrentHierarchyMember.get(‘Closed at’) )
to give me the time per issue, but I can not reference this in measures when I try to create a calculated member.

I then tried calculating this directly in measures using a calculated measure [Measure]. [Time to Close] as
DateDiffDays( [Measures].[Issue created date],[Measures].[Issue closed date])

When I add this to measures, if I dig down to the issue, I see the value, but there is not sum of values on the time element rows up the hierarchy. My next step was going to add a measure for each range and count the values for that range.

I know I am in the weeds at a conceptual level. Can anyone help?

Hi!

To show the values on a higher level you would need to do the Sum(
) of the measure that is being calculated on the issue level.

But before we go there, I would like to guide you to the Interval dimension direction, see https://docs.eazybi.com/eazybi/analyze-and-visualize/interval-dimensions.