Help with calculated member on Measure

Hi there,

i’m quite new to eazyBI and Jira… So i apologize if this question is quite obivous…

I have imported some agile Jira Projects with Sprints, Storypoints and several Projects.
Now we have a custom text field, which contains (not too many) different entries, but needs to be a free text field, so new entries can be added.
The amount of these different entries is what we need to count --> basicly aggregated on Project (or any dimension) level

Example: Field “Letter” is available in 10 different issues from Project “start” and contains:
A
A
A
B
B
B
B
B
C
C

now i would like to count these diferences and get the result of 3 (A,B,C) for project “start”

–> Since custom text fields can only imported as measures and not as dimensions, i dont realy know how the achieve this…

hopefully somebody understands what i’d like to achieve…

Thank you

I’m not sure I fully understand your scenario, but you can definitely import custom text fields as dimensions (though there is a potential performance hit, in the text fields have a lot of values). You’ll need to add information to the advanced settings. It’s described here:

https://docs.eazybi.com/eazybijira/data-import/custom-fields/advanced-settings-for-custom-fields

The value you need to set for the custom field is:
dimension = true

Then you’ll get the checkbox to import it as a dimension.

I hope this helps.

-Seth

1 Like

Oh, wow… Thank you. This is a simple solution and is quite good to work with =)

One further question due to this:

I am not able to expand the new hierarchy

(by click on + nothing happens)

Gap#Count =
count(
  Filter (Descendants ([Gap No.].[Gap No.].Members),
  [Measures].[Issues created] > 0 and
  [Gap No.].CurrentMember.Name <> '(none)'
  )
)

Anyhow, i can search and bookmark values.
I am also able to define new calculated Measures with the new dimension…

So: why wouldnt my dimension break down?