How to accurately calculate average time in statuses and/or statuses categories

HI all:

I’m quite new to Jira and EazyBI (and I’m not getting time to read the manuals) and I need help with this. We need to calculate the average time spent by incidents in some statuses, in particular in the To Do category of statuses because we want to measure the wait time of the tickets (in contrast to the time the ticket is being worked on)

I started using the [Average days in transition status], adapted to measure hours

CASE WHEN [Measures].[Transitions from status] > 0 THEN
  [Measures].[Days in transition status] * 24 /
  [Measures].[Transitions from status]
END

When I use that measure in 2 different reports, I get 2 different results
When using category transition status (forget the In progress column)

When I use specific transition statuses

What we want to know is how much time (in average) the issues are “waiting” , so I believe the secound one is a more accurate measure, but after reading some forums (one example below) I’m not sure of anything :sob: :sob: :sob:

Can someone please enlighten me on this?

Thanks

Lead and Cycle Time in eazyBI (atlassian.com)

Hi, @walterdp

Welcome to the eazyBI community! You are not alone.

Did you know eazyBI supports defining and importing cycles based on issue statuses? Based on your requirements, I feel this is the way you should go!

First, you define the cycle - in your case, all the statuses that are “waiting”.
Perform the import.
And use the new cycle measures in the reports.

Please read more here on our documentation page: Issue cycles

Or You can start by watching my collages Elita’s training video about this topic here: Training videos on specific topics)

Issue cycles allow you to group statuses based on your requirements and create one issue Cycle. eazyBI would automatically create several measures, including the average days the issue spent in the cycle.

Let me know how it went.

Kindly,
Ilze

HI @ilze.mezite ,