Linking Non-Sprint Work to Sprint Based on Logged By and Date

I’m new to working with cubes (MDX) so any assistance would be great. We have two projects I need to link. I want to pull hours logged in our TIME project (no sprints, time logged for PTO, Unassigned Time, and any other time that reduces the time available to work on the sprint) and sum and associate them with Sprints based on Logged By and Date.
Basically along the lines of…
get the Sprint Start and End dates and Logged By from our DVST project, go to the TIME project and sum all the time for the Logged By between those Dates and feed that back into my table showing the Sprint hours (original estimated hours, time spent, etc.). The goal is to report all the hours logged for the sprint period for the various groups (Dev Teams/Boards).

Hi,

The idea of such a calculation is to create the formula summing up the hours spent over the period matching the sprint start and end dates. The following formula collects all the hours from the sprint period, considering that you use the sprint dimension in the report:

sum(
  {[Time].[Day].DateMember([Measures].[Sprint start date]):
  [Time].[Day].DateMember([Measures].[Sprint end date])},

([Measures].[Hours spent],
   [Sprint].DefaultMember)
)

Note a tiny limitation of this solution; the hours are taken from full days regardless when exactly sprint was started. That might return a bit more than expected if the hours are logged in the same day before sprint start or in the day of sprint completion after the sprint is closed.

You can further extend part of the formula to collect the hours from another project or from a specific user group. For instance, if I wish to collect hours during the sprint from my project “DEMO Beta”:

sum(

[Sprint].DefaultMember,
   [Project].[DEMO Beta])
)

Such a formula would allow creating ar report for comparing hours spent in the sprint from and outside the sprint during the same period of sprint:

Kindly,
Janis, eazyBI support