Resolution Time calculation in a report

Hi,
I am very new to report creation. I am trying to calculate Resolution Time of JIRA issues.

Resolution Time is defined as , "Time taken by an issue to reach completion (DONE state) from In Progress state or any other state "

I have 2 scenarios that I need to consider:

1. Direct Transition, e.g. In Progress → DONE, i.e. only one phase towards DONE.
  2. Multiple Transitions. e.g.
    In Progress → Ready QA → DONE ,
    OR
    In Progress → Ready QA → Testing → DONE
    That is there can be multiple steps before being DONE

I am really struggling to make an approach for it. Any help towards this 2 problems is much appreciated.

THANKS.

1 Like

Hi @soumen_jana ,

Welcome to the eazyBI community! For only the first scenario, with the direct transition from In Progress to Done, define a new calculated measure with the formula below:

([Measures].[Days in transition status],
[Transition].[In Progress => Done])

For the second scenario where there can be the direct transition and multiple other transitions, define a new calculated measure with a formula similar to the one below:

Sum(
  {[Transition Status].[In Progress],
  [Transition Status].[In Review],
  [Transition Status].[Approved],
  [Transition Status].[Ready for QA]},
  [Status].[Done])
)

Update the Transition Status dimension members to match the statuses the issue can travel through on the way from “In Progress” till “Done”. No need to include the last status “Done” in that set. The formula will return the sum of days the issue spent in the statuses if the issue’s current status is “Done”.

Look at our documentation page for more information on defining calculated measures -​https://docs.eazybi.com/eazybijira/analyze-and-visualize/calculated-measures-and-members.

Best,
Roberts // support@eazybi.com

1 Like

Hi @roberts.cacus ,

Thanks for the solution. I have a query regarding the second scenario.
How to update the Transition Status dimension,
like,