Select Board, get current (or recent) sprint

Ultimate goal: have a shared Pages filter on a dashboard where board is selected, then a burn down chart is populated with the active sprint for that board. Another burn down is populated with the most recent sprint for that board. A third table is populated with future sprints’ data (this table I have working fine).

I’m having trouble finding a way to get this to work. I’ve combed through several community threads, and I have yet to determine the appropriate solution. Everything I have seen or attempted still requires the sprint itself to be selected, not just the board. I’m a newb, so I will likely have follow up questions. Any help would be much appreciated.

You would like to use Sprint dimension on Rows and on Pages for this report. You can use Board selection on the Pages and show Sprints on Rows.

In addition to this setup, you would like to add a filter to rows to get either the currently active sprint or recently closed sprint.

Report on active sprint for a selected board
You can define and use a measure representing sprint status to get the option filter by active status.
[Sprint].CurrentHierarchyMember.Get('Status')

Add this measure to the report and use the option Filter rows for this Sprint status with the selection Matches and value “Active”.
See how I updated the burndown chart for the currently active sprint based on the board selection:

Pro-tip on the above report. You can start it from the current Sample report. Switch to Year instead of Days before making any changes (otherwise, you can get either timeout or out of memory error).

1. After you set the time level to Year add sprint dimension to Rows and add it to Pages from there.
  2. Add measure Sprint Status to the report and add a filter for active sprints.
  3. Select a particular board on Pages and use Sprint level on Rows.
  4. After you made those changes switch back to the Day level on the Time dimension.